CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Titanium DS A-arms

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2006, 01:18 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Titanium DS A-arms

I saw my first set of TI A-arms on a DS today. (Pics on the On-Dunes forum) I held one up next to a chromoly drag A-arm. The titanium was about 1/3 the weight. The Ti was thinner and stronger according to the builder.

Amazing! I think Sandbomber's DS will be under 300 lbs for 4sws.......who'd a thought![img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Ti A-arms

Old 12-21-2006, 05:04 AM
Pro Rider
It's official, I've been duning for over 30 years.

Check out the carbon fiber tie rod!

Old 12-21-2006, 08:18 AM
eRo
Range Rover

are these a drag only item???

Old 12-21-2006, 11:43 AM
Extreme Pro Rider

These are 1 of a kind. A second set will be made. I think the rare type of titanium that these are, the material alone is about $1000.

The only way to get these would be to have about $2k and custom shop that knows how to weld and bend Titanium. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Old 12-21-2006, 12:50 PM
TPR
The Champ

I would think that a drag setup would be ideal for Ti arms. The stuff is real light, but it is also brittle so you really don't want to pound them too much for as much as they cost, you don't want to have to replace them.

My father in law, a former Indycar driver and now a mechanic/machinest on all types of race cars said the use of titanium is very specialized and only works for certian applications.

Same thing applies with carbon fiber, it is ridgid but prone to puncture, breakage and has poor friction durability (Why it's used for skidplates I'll never know) Idealy you would want more kevlar with maybe CF to give it ridgidity. That's why we are working on maybe making kevlar skids for my Rhino, then maybe quads. Done right its darn near indestructible.

TPR

Old 12-21-2006, 01:44 PM
Extreme Pro Rider