ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community

ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community (https://atvconnection.com/forums/)
-   General Chat (https://atvconnection.com/forums/general-chat/)
-   -   Is using my winch to load onto a pick-up a bad idea? (https://atvconnection.com/forums/general-chat/377095-using-my-winch-load-onto-pick-up-bad-idea.html)

pmshoemaker 09-27-2018 09:26 AM

Is using my winch to load onto a pick-up a bad idea?

Hey folks, I'm a total ATV newbie at 51 years old. The walk across my 350 acre hunting lease was getting to me, so I finally broke down and bought a quad. Here's the thing -- I was watching videos of how not to load a quad onto a pickup and my wife saw and is now convinced I'm going to kill myself driving up into my truck. I was wondering if putting a chain across my bed hooks up at the front and then attaching my winch to the center and pulling the quad up in at a very controlled pace would be a good way to load and unload -- at least until I get a little more comfortable with my quad. Is there any downside to doing that? Let me know if I'm asking for trouble, please. Thanks so much!

Zrock 09-27-2018 09:39 AM

Im pretty sure if you look in your manual that is the recommended way to load.. Nothing wrong with it load how ever you feel comfortable. Also alot of mistakes people make is they go out and buy a set of ramps not thinking about the length. The shorter they are the steeper the load angle get the longer ones you can find and it will make the load angle much better for you. And always strap your ramps down

Big Frank 09-27-2018 08:48 PM