General RUV / UTV Discussion Discussions about Gators, Mules, Rangers, Rhinos and other off-road recreational vehicles.

Gator?Mule?Rhino? 65 year old Tree Farmer wants to know

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-2004, 09:23 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gator?Mule?Rhino? 65 year old Tree Farmer wants to know

I want to buy my first utility ATV. I need it for getting to and fro on hills with tools and will drag trees and use a winch. Dumping fire wood is also part of it.A dump box is very appealing. I will set up and maintain feed plots. I am a lousy mechanic and want maintenance free use. Mostly will use on own land. From what I have read on the forum I need a very low starting gear and should avoid belts and Polaris Rangers.
What exactly would I be losing by buying a side by side in comparison with a "motorcycle" type ATV; I would hate climbingoff and on one of the latter all day. I have only spent about an hour on an ATV.
Is there some reason that hardly any one refers to the Gator when talking about ATVīS?
Jim

Old 02-29-2004, 11:19 PM
Pro Rider

If width is not a problem then a Mule or Rino are really good. The Bomb traxter is very easy to get on and off. I think you can get a box style in the back but it might become back heavy if you have something heavy in it and you are climbing a steep hill. Belts really shouldn't be a problem. The Rino is quite new in concept but engine is not new so the reliablity should be very good. Mules have been around for a while and I know of no problems with em. An ATV and trailor works well too. Gators? John Deer? Is that a lawn mower? LOL (Lots of Laugh) Sorry no help there.

Welcome to the fourms.

Old 03-01-2004, 01:04 AM
Sod
Trailblazer

I hava a Gator and I have to agree that it is over priced and not much of a machine! I would never buy another one. Take a look at the Ranger.

Old 03-01-2004, 09:02 AM
Pro Rider