Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Need help with Rancher

Old 11-13-2005, 05:21 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with Rancher

Hi yall. I'm a Soldier in the US Army stationed in Iraq. We recently aquired a Honda Rancher. An Air Force unit was leaving and gave it to us. We dont know anything about it and I was hoping yall could help. I dont know the year but it looks to be atleast a year or two old. It has a 5 speed manual tranny with reverse. The side of the engine has 329cm3 stamped on it. It's 4wd (permanate 4wd as far as I can tell). I took some pictures that I will download and post soon.
In the mean time I'm hoping the little info I told yall might help to identify it's year and engine size (I've always heard of these in cc's, not sure what a cm is) and possibly a narrower range of years.
It runs, but rough. I have the carb off for a cleaning and partial rebuild (what ever I can do with what we have available) and I cleaned and re-gaped the spark plug. I also noticed that the choke cable is busted where it screws into the carb. Where could I get one off the internet? Uncle Sam wont put out for repair parts so it's going to be out of pocket. Now that it's getting cold here we will be needing it.
Other than that it seems to be in okay shape.
I'd also like to find out what oil should be used for the engine, tranny, and diffs.
Where would be a good source for light bulbs and spark plugs for it? They dont use the same size or style bulbs as our HMMWV's or 5 tons (not that I expected it to or anything). Just general repair parts like that.

I thank you for any help and info you could provide. I'll get those pictures up asap to hopefully better identify it.

Old 11-13-2005, 01:18 PM
Elite Pro Rider

Click on the ronnies banner at the top of the page, you can order from them...or dennis kirk or rockymountain atv. For the choke cable, they are sometimes available on ebay, cheaper than new.
The cm3 stands for centi -meters cubed.