Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Need advice. Just got a 04 450r and want to race

Old 10-02-2006, 11:00 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice. Just got a 04 450r and want to race

I'm new to 4 wheelers. A few weeks ago I got a 04 450r. It has a Lrd pro 4 series exhaust, a K n N air filter, and a jet kit. Also, after we bought it we noticed that the rear axle was bent, but I really don't notice it when I'm riding and I'm wondering if I should get a new one. It's a pretty fast quad, but you can never have too much power and I wanna know if there's any cheap ways to add more power. Also, I'd like to know about any easy tricks to adjusting the suspension b/c I'm only 140 lbs. and the suspension just isn't right for me. I want to do some upcoming races, but I really need to get this stuff figured out and get some more practice. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Old 10-03-2006, 03:55 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Best advice is to just attend a few races near you, see what the other racers are using - mainly the novice and intermediate level guys. The beginners might have put stuff on that they don't need, but by the time they reach the next level, they have figured out what to do. Ask about rules and requirements, attend practice days with your quad, practice, practice.... Mod it as necessary for your skill and budget.

You "can" race a stock quad. You will be faster with suspension mods first - NOT motor mods. For what it's worth, go to www.gtthunder.com and check out their 450R suspension mods. For less than $750, he can set you up with a suspension that will make you happy for the first year of racing. After that - if you still want to race - you can look into the a-arms and axle + shocks. THAT gets expensive!

Guys that spend all their money on motor first might get the holeshot, but then they can't keep the pace up and end up getting passed by guys with better suspension and better turning skills.