Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Rancher AT runs like poop.

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2012, 02:21 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rancher AT runs like poop.

So I have a a 2004 Rancher AT, A little background on this goes like this, I was out riding with a friend one day and it just started to run like ****. Spitting, suttering, finally just died... I couldn't really find anything wrong with it (that I could tell, on a county road with minimal tools) I finaly got it running again and made it home. I am a mechanic, so I'm not a complete retard when it comes to diagnosing things out and fixing the problem. I eventually took it to work and started to look for things. What I found was that I had a ton of H2o in the tank. I had no idea how it got into the tank. So I had already wanted to do a snorkel and jet kit, so when I took the carb apart to clean all the water out I installed my jet kit, drained tank, cleaned, dried, and put everything back together. The bike ran good for a while and then after a while the same **** happened again! So first things first I have no freakin idea how this water gets into my tank! no one has access to it to be a vandal or anything, I know the gas is good and the can it clean (new can and same gas I out in my car, and I poured the **** out to see what it looked like). Then after the second cleaning I have a new problem, (SAME SYMPTOMS OF NOT GETTING FUEL). I have a glass fuel filter installed in the line goin to the carb well it seems that when the bike sits it will be completely full of fuel. After running for a while it spits sputters and just runs like ****, but if you pull the choke on it, it will run just fine for a bit (SUBTRACTING AIR = NOT AS MUCH NEED FOR FUEL). Back to the filter.. When these symptoms occur I can watch the filter basically drain of fuel which leads me to my 2 questions.
#1 How the hell does this water keep getting into my tank? ( happens over time, I don't ride every day)