ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community

ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community (https://atvconnection.com/forums/)
-   Honda (https://atvconnection.com/forums/honda/)
-   -   A little Help (https://atvconnection.com/forums/honda/378197-little-help.html)

Jim Squires 03-04-2019 09:48 AM

A little Help

Hey, so I am a complete noob when it comes to ATV's. I have just recently found out how useful they are and how badly I need one and was hoping to get a little help deciding what to get...

Should I be looking more at 450cc or 700cc? This is primarily going to be a work machine. I will need it for: pulling my wood splitter (about 450lbs), pulling trailers with wood, plowing snow, pulling logs, maybe getting a front end loader for moving dirt and wood chips.

What features would be beneficial to help with these tasks?

merryman 03-06-2019 02:35 AM

450cc, here in the UK people rarely go for anything bigger than 500cc due to fuel costs. As you posted in the Honda section 500cc is your limit anyway, as Honda only make "leisure ATVs" in the 700cc range, but make, or have made, a plethora of models in the 400cc to 500cc range. The old model 420 was a bad bike but the rest of the Hondas in this size bracket were OK. 400 manual and early 450s had fixed 4WD so are heavy on the steering. The early 500 manual had a gearbox fault that was cured on post 2007 bikes, and most earlier ones will have had the box rebuilt with the later, modified gears. People fought shy of the 400 and 500 Autos, due to electronic complexity, but we have had very few problems with them. Newer, 420 and 500 Autos are a different thing, I don't like them, but others do.

greg74 03-09-2019 01:46 PM