ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community

ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community (https://atvconnection.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://atvconnection.com/forums/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   New to the forum and need atv buying advice... (https://atvconnection.com/forums/introduce-yourself/365387-new-forum-need-atv-buying-advice.html)

Hack714 09-19-2015 10:41 PM

New to the forum and need atv buying advice...

Hello everyone i am new to the forums and i hope to be an active member for a long time, i have read many threads and this seems like a great community it all areas.

I am currently looking to buy my first atv and i am torn on what to get. I am not a newbie i have ridden atvs before so i would say I am a novice rider, usually rode sport quads ranging from 250 to 400. I have also rode some utility 4x4s. I am torn between what type of atv to buy i mostly ride trails, some open fields and some trails can get technical. I do not care for mudding just not my cup of tea. I like the way a sport quad rides as in the fun aspect. Being able to power slide and whip around corners is fun some light jumping some fast riding. On the other hand it is nice to have 4x4 and get through places easier then a sport.

I am debating a few makes and models and would appreciate any input..
1. Can am Renegade - i think the 800 would be to much for tight trails and i think the 570 would be more up my alley...any thoughts

2. Suzuki ltz400- rode this quad a lot before and i enjoyed it

3. Raptor 700- is this quad to much power for someone with my experience and is it to much power for trail riding and tight trails. i do not want to be stuck in 1st and 2nd gear all day. that is no fun i rode a 660 raptor when they first came out and it was 2nd gear all day i dont know how the 700 compares.