Introduce Yourself Just Joined? Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself & let us know what you ride. PLEASE DO NOT ASK QUESTIONS FOR HELP IN THIS AREA. Your better off asking in the Brand Discussions Area.

New to riding... Thnking of an '18 rancher 4x4

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2018, 01:45 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to riding... Thnking of an '18 rancher 4x4

So, the title pretty much explains it. I'm new to riding. That being said, I have ridden in the past, however I have never owned a ride. I am looking for something easy to maintain, durable, and basic. I don't want/need anything big, no 1000CC ride, nothing extreme or extravagant. The 2018 Honda Rancher 4x4 really caught my eye. Good quality name, proven durability and serviced at a local dealership 10 mins from home. Does anyone have experience with the '18s? Anything to look out for or avoid?

Mainly using this to hunt and do some mild trail riding. No deep/extreme mud, nothing over the top. Any input you guys could give would be greatly appreciated.

Old 12-05-2018, 02:07 PM
Super Moderator
Well, golly JimBob!
Received 54 Likes on 54 Posts

Good solid machine. Not as many bells and whistles as some other brands but a good all around machine that will do everything you're asking of it. Not as comfortable a ride as a Polaris or Can-Am. Riders with back problems looking to keep it comfortable would do better on a Polaris.

Old 12-09-2018, 07:40 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Had a 2007 Rancher that I just sold with 1500 miles. It never gave me any issues. I got it with 1100 miles and sold it 4 years later for more than i paid for it. As said they're pretty basic. I had the electric shift version. The automatic version is bad, it never knows when to shift, you'll end up using the manual mode all the time.