Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Kawasaki mojave running problem

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2009, 05:56 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kawasaki mojave running problem

I have got a 91 mojave 250 and it starts up good but will run like **** with it backfiring and i have to leave the choke on most of the time I have replaced the jets numbers of times and have screwed with the fuel air mixture and still nothing. I was told to buy a new carb(might this be my problem). I have good compression and it is timed right it feels like it may be flooding out or or starving for fuel cause when i hit the gas it will bog down and kill. I have to keep pumping the gas to try and keep it running and sometimes that wont work and it will just kill. If i turn the choke off even just a little bit it will kill even if i try touching the gas at the same time. Anything new I can try and yes my carb is clean

Old 03-03-2009, 08:02 AM
Weekend Warrior

I'm not a mechanic but maybe a fuel filter clog or dirt in the tank. Thats my guess.
Good luck

Old 03-06-2009, 07:00 AM
Weekend Warrior

hey guys im new to the site i just bought a mojave a couple months ago and love it. but as far as your question i had the same problem with my mojave and i took the carb off and cleaned it several times it was spotless inside and out and i never could get it to work right. i put a carb from another mojave on it and never had another problem

Old 03-06-2009, 05:45 PM
Weekend Warrior

Ok thank you for that info and I have ben trying to find a different carb and I cant find one anywhere. Let me know if you or someone else knows where there is a good carb for a 91 mojave 250

Old 03-06-2009, 07:11 PM
Weekend Warrior