Kids Quads & Other ATV's - Ask an Expert! An area where experts in their field will answer non-general questions about your Chinese made ATV. mywifesquad, LT80, LynnEdwards and other experts will answer your questions as they have time.

New to 4 Wheelers

Old 12-17-2016, 08:28 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to 4 Wheelers

I'm new to 4 wheelers and I have question. I bought my kids each a used 2001 - 2003 Polaris 90cc 4 wheelers (One is a sportsman the other a scrambler). I just want to make sure I keep them running right and take good care of them so they will last. My kids are not the type to break or tear things up so they will not abuse them, but is there anything recommended I should do on a regular basis (Daily, monthly, yearly) to keep these machines running right. Whatever it is I will do. I know the ones I bought are old but old doesn't mean trash if its fixed up and taken care of....right? What should I look out for as far as where and tear goes? What should I replace regular, weather its bad or not, just to be safe? What should I look out for that goes bad on a regular basis so I can buy a couple to have laying around in the event it breaks / wont start?

Thank you in advance!

Old 12-17-2016, 08:40 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
LT80 Expert
Received 32 Likes on 31 Posts

Welcome to the forums.
Keep the air filter clean and make sure to run ethanol free gas.
It might not hurt to do clutch maint (clean up and check rollers for flat spots)to make sure all is well. I'd do that after 15-20 hours of riding.

Old 12-17-2016, 09:01 AM
Weekend Warrior

Thank you! Will do! As for ethanol free gas, I use this stuff called "Stabel" from Home Depot. You add it to the gas and its suppose to remove the ethanol or something like that.

Old 12-17-2016, 11:09 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
LT80 Expert
Received 32 Likes on 31 Posts

Stabil is usually for gas storage/winter prep for lawn mowers, cars, etc.
They do make a ethanol treatment tho.