Kids Quads & Other ATV's - Ask an Expert! An area where experts in their field will answer non-general questions about your Chinese made ATV. mywifesquad, LT80, LynnEdwards and other experts will answer your questions as they have time.

50cc quad wont start

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2017, 10:04 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 50cc quad wont start

Morning guys want to start by saying what a great site, endless amounts of usefull information so im hoping some one can help me out.

Please forgive me, for my first post this is going to be rather long winded but i want to be as detailed as i can.

I was given a small 50cc chinese quad by my brother, he said his kid was out on it and it just cut out and wouldnt start again.

we dont know the manufacturer of the quad

He discovered there was no spark and it has sat in his shed for about 18 since, i am by no means a mechanic but in my younger days i had a kx250 which was my pride and joy and i tinkered with it rather a lot.

the quad has electrical issues but my main concern is why the engine wont start, ill sort the electrics out once i know the engines good.

ok so lets start, ill try and bullet point the issues and what ive done to make for easier reading

ISSUES

1- no spark, i did resolve this issue
2- dead ignition, nothing on the turn of the key-issue ongoing

WHAT IVE TRIED

A 1- i replaced the spark plug, still no spark
1.1 i replaced the ht lead, no spark
1.2 i replaced the CDI unit no spark
1.3 New battery
1.4 i replaced stator magneto and i finally got a strong consistent spark.

A 2- i Disconnected all the wire harness and cleaned all contacts, nothing
2.1 ive disconnected the kill switchs nothing

thats pretty much where i am but heres a few more obsivations and things ive done

its got a good new battery

i have removed and cleaned the petrol tank and filled with fresh petrol

i have removed and cleaned the carburettor

i have removed the inline fuel filter and replaced