Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

Giovanni Mini Quad Clicks once on start and thats it

Old 05-14-2012, 09:22 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Giovanni Mini Quad Clicks once on start and thats it

Hello, I am new to this so please bear with me. I recently purchased two broken Giovanni mini quads. One started easily just by changing the gas. The other makes a click sound one time for every push of the start button. The broken quad came with a remote with several buttons (lock, unlock, lightning button, and a bell button). I have tried boosting from my truck. Swapping the part labeled the "starter relay"(the thing that clicks once) to the working quad and works fine. When the two cables touched on the working quad when I was swapping the starter relay the starter fired. When I tried to replicate this on the broken quad nothing happened (I think this is this called crossing the starter). By nothing happened I mean no spark and the starter did nothing. The lights that work stand at a count of one, an orange right rear light. The brake light works intermittently between attempted starts. I assumed the quad would start with faulty lights. I have also made sure of the basics ie. brake lock engaged, kill button in the middle position (the circle with an arrow), the parental kill pull button toggle switch engaged. I also read on a previous post to remove the remote control box, so I tried it with no prevail. Please help me with any troubleshooting you can think of. As these are my first quads and I have never been a great mechanic please explain the simplest procedure and what the part looks like that I am troubleshooting. Thank You

Old 05-14-2012, 11:06 PM
Electrical Expert
Likes High Voltage In The Tub!
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts