ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community

ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community (https://atvconnection.com/forums/)
-   Other ATV Topics (https://atvconnection.com/forums/other-atv-topics/)
-   -   Unforgiving spills (https://atvconnection.com/forums/other-atv-topics/2270-unforgiving-spills.html)

spanknquad 11-19-1999 03:31 PM

I ride a 99 honda recon 250 and love it alot and last month I had my most painful crash of all so I just thought I would talk about it.I've been riding atv's for about 5 years and always thought I would never get hurt.Well,me and 5 other friends were out riding 3weeks ago and of course I was getting very radical on mine.We were riding up some hills through the timber area (just having a blast)when my friends decided to go out across the pasture. I was the last one out of the timber and I was going just a little to fast when I came out and slammed nose first into a washed out rutt that was about 3 feet deep.I tried to get stopped in time but it was to late! The wheeler didn't flip over luckily but when I went flying over the right side of the handlebars,I was'nt so lucky! I came down on my right leg and twisted my knee real bad.(Man,did it hurt)!My friends turned around and came back to see what happened and I just laid there in pain for about 10 minutes then somehow crawled back on my wheeler.They helped me as much as they could ,but I was stubborn and told them (Oh! I'll be alright).I rode for about 3 hours afterwards crippled before I went home and got cleaned up and went to ER. X-rays showed a fractured and severly twisted right knee and surgery had to be done to repair a chipped off bone.It has'nt been to pleasant since.I am recovering well and looking forward to more safer riding ahead,but I guess I learned the hard way.
I just wanted to tell my story and would like to hear about mistakes other people have made.We could learn alot from other peoples mistakes and mishaps!

Thank's for reading......

myscrambler 11-19-1999 04:16 PM