ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community

ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community (https://atvconnection.com/forums/)
-   Performance Mods and Project Quads (https://atvconnection.com/forums/performance-mods-project-quads/)
-   -   chinese frame, ninja 250 swap?? (https://atvconnection.com/forums/performance-mods-project-quads/321831-chinese-frame-ninja-250-swap.html)

908240sx 12-24-2009 04:47 PM

chinese frame, ninja 250 swap??

Well im new to the atv scene, but have always been interested. I have finally purchased a atv, its not the best, chinese brand, but im happy with it, sort of. I bought basically the frame for $100, the motor came with it but didnt find out the motor was junk, till i got home. So i wanted to make it a project. I dont know everything about quads, but I just cant resist taking things apart, fabricating, and all that good stuff. Well ive searched google, the forum, asked around and no answer. I want to know what is needed to do a complete swap. I want to put a ninja 250 motor in it. I know the basics of what is needed, but would like to know what else is necessary. I know i need the motor/trans duh, wiring harness, computer, carb, exhaust. My atv is currently started by the turn of a key, would i need to swap that with the ninja ignition?? or can i splice some wires and call it a day. What about the brakes?? i have rear brakes can i still use that or have to swap it to?? Also other info. would be great. thanks.

908240sx 12-26-2009 09:18 AM

nothing?????

mywifesquad 12-26-2009 09:37 AM

Welcome to the forum 908240sx! :)

I dont think many if any have tried your conversion idea..If I was going to do it Id use the ignition from the ninja motor..Your going to need a few fabricating and welding skills and may need a few parts machined. The biggest worry I would have is the ninja engine tearing the Chinese quad into little pieces.

Id guess what you learn could be useful to the next guy who tries something similar.