Polaris Ask an Expert! In fond memory of Old Polaris Tech. An area where experts in their field will answer non-general questions about your Polaris ATV.
"old polaris tech" and other experts will answer your questions as they have time.
ASK ALL GENERAL QUESTIONS OR BASIC QUESTIONS IN THE POLARIS FORUM.
Basic or General questions posted in a expert section will be moved!

1995 polaris scrambler 4x4 won't start

Old 10-20-2013, 10:44 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1995 polaris scrambler 4x4 won't start

My scrambler was starting up and running fine, but would not idle. I first took the carb off and tried spray cleaner. I reinstalled the carb and now it won't start. I pulled the carb again,tore it apart, soaked it in cleaner and reassembled. all the jets,seats etc. looked good to me but I'm no expert. Reinstalled the carb again but it still won't start, no firing ...nothing. I pulled the plug and it seems almost dry. I'm not sure any gas is getting to that plug. The carb bowl is full of gas. Please help

Old 10-20-2013, 03:16 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

First things first. Replace the plug if you haven't already and ground it against the cylinder to check for spark. If you have spark and it was at least running before you tore into the carb,retrace your steps.Not a bad idea also to do a compression check to see where you stand on the top end.

Old 10-23-2013, 01:31 PM
Weekend Warrior

First of all..thanks for your help. Ok, I changed the plug, new gas again and it started up. Now I'm back to my first problem which is it won't idle. I'm sure I messed up the fuel and air screws. I backed off the air screw about 1 1/2 turns, same with the fuel Which I keep adjusting in and out with no success. the throttle cable is screwed all the way down. Even though the engine is running fine, and warmed up, I always have to choke to restart.

Old 10-23-2013, 02:29 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!