Polaris Ask an Expert! In fond memory of Old Polaris Tech. An area where experts in their field will answer non-general questions about your Polaris ATV.
"old polaris tech" and other experts will answer your questions as they have time.
ASK ALL GENERAL QUESTIONS OR BASIC QUESTIONS IN THE POLARIS FORUM.
Basic or General questions posted in a expert section will be moved!

Counter balance broken, water pump shaft and oil pump shaft

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2016, 04:42 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Counter balance broken, water pump shaft and oil pump shaft

Well I'm testing another post. Seems as a newbie I can't post with pictures as I did one yesterday that disappeared with the message that it needed moderator approval. Sent a PM on that but still waiting. So maybe I'll reply to this post another 15 times to get to my 20.

So I got my ATV back together from the trans rebuild and prior to buttoning everything up decided to fire it up to check other things. When I loaded it the kid said the hot light came on. So I took a couple of laps around the driveway and the hot light came on. Took it back into the shop and the radiator was cold. So tore into the water pump. When I pulled it apart the water pump shaft was broken off clean at the big gear. The oil pump drive gear was broken off at the base also. Needless to say there were lost of missing teeth on the big gear and on the gear on the crank. The bearings were rough but not locked up.

So I wish I could show you pictures but that seems to not be allowed.

Any ideas why this would happen? I want to make sure if there are other issues I solve them while I'm in it.

Old 01-03-2016, 04:47 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Trying to remember what machine you have??

Old 01-03-2016, 04:49 PM
Weekend Warrior

Tried to post an inserted pic again....no dice wouldn't even let me insert it.

So here's a direct link to one of the images.