Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Hello, Glad to have found this forum. Got a few newbie questions.

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2000, 06:18 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello guys/gals. I just bought my first ATV a few days ago. I purchased a 2000 Polaris TrailBlazer, brand new. I have ridden ATV's years ago, mainly my cousins Suzuki 250 Quadracer. Other than that I am a total newbie. Any how a little background on me.
I am 25, I live in the mountains of upstate Pennsylvania (Potter County to be exact). Living where I do, the only places to ride are mountainous, timber covered terrain. The trails here are, at times, very steep and tricky. So this brings me to my question. My TrailBlazer is nice, I really like it so far, but I feel like I need some more low to midrange power, especially when trying to navigate some of these steep inclines and tight turns which lead into immediate steep grades, where this isnt much room for a running start. I am just wondering, what would be an easy way of gaining some extra acceleration from the take off, and maybe a little more mid range oomph? I am very new to 2 Stoke engines, and what mods give you the desired effects. (Gimme a Small Block Ford V-8 and I can have it runnin like a champ ) Please note, I am not looking to build a Banshee burner here, I am well aware that this machine is not built for racing and such. I am just looking to increase the effectiveness of this machine for the terrain I ride on. Besides, I bought this machine to get reaquainted with riding again not raise hell on. Next year the wife gets the TrailBlazer, and I get a Scrambler 400 4x4.