ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community

ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community (https://atvconnection.com/forums/)
-   Polaris (https://atvconnection.com/forums/polaris/)
-   -   Carb vs EFI (https://atvconnection.com/forums/polaris/300993-carb-vs-efi.html)

SageBoy 11-10-2008 06:17 PM

Carb vs EFI

Hello,

I currently have a 2008 500 Sportsman EFI and I'm considering getting the wife the 400 but I'm a little concerned about going with a carb'd engine. Should I at all be concerned? I'm new to owning an ATV but thinking back to when one of my trucks had a carb'd engine I had nothing but trouble. Now I know that was back in 1988 and engines now a days are far more advanced but just not sure with an ATV if I should be concerned or just go with another EFI machine? I'm not bright enough is this area to know any better.

Thoughts and comments greatly appreciated.

Joe

ZAKAZIM 11-10-2008 06:25 PM

Carb vs EFI

EFI all the way..... I have had both and I like the EFI over carb. If you live in a cold area it is much more reliable starting.

SageBoy 11-10-2008 06:29 PM

Carb vs EFI

That's one of the things that crossed my mind living in New England. I like the idea of the 500 X2 so that I can have the option to ride 2 up if need be.

Wheels47 11-10-2008 07:28 PM

Carb vs EFI

We have both the EFI and card but have yet to test them side by side. Here in Arizona we can climb high in elevation real quick so I want to see how they perform against eachother. I have heard that this is the biggest complaint with the Carb compared to EFI as with starting in cold weather.

Stoopidbot 11-10-2008 07:42 PM

Carb vs EFI

The carb is much more simple to work on. Like said before, EFI starts easier in cold weather. If you have any large changes in elevation get the EFI.

You wanna talk about sudden changes in elevation, try riding in the Rockies. I've been on trails that start at 7,000ft and go up to 14,000ft.

stendori 11-10-2008 08:20 PM

Carb vs EFI