Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.
View Poll Results: What do you think of the predator 500?
Love it, Great quad, many extras, Great price!
77.78%
I dont like it! BUT! i have logical reasons why.
11.11%
I Like MINE because its the best cause i have it and im a biased noob!
11.11%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Polaris Predator 500/Who says they arent good?

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2010, 06:59 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wink Polaris Predator 500/Who says they arent good?

I hear a lot of people giving the predator a hard time, and usually biased people who have never owned one. I just bought a 2007 Polaris Predator 500(stock) with less than 50 hours on it for 2500 dollars because the resale dealer tought it needed valvetrain work, and it turned out the tensioner just needed to be adjusted, so now i have a great quad at an even better price!
My point is they arent given enough credit for how great of a quad they are [ american made too ]. Now im not gonna be biased because i own one, i just want people to get the right info!
It has steel braided brake lines, fox shocks, and reverse! all in a 499cc DOHC beast. I will say the bottom end isnt amazing but can be adjusted with a quick gear change and really be opened up with a slip on exhaust and jetting.
Everything feels comfortable and within reach with good ergonomics and plush suspension. The 410 weight is barely noticable as i can easily jump it and wheelie it on command. Even with the anti squat rear end it can be wheelied well and has a great balance point, but when taking off keeps the rear-end down when you want it to.
I have already don a valve adjustment and can say these being american made are really well thought out and simple to work on.