Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

03 Trailboss 330 won't run without battery

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2017, 12:25 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 03 Trailboss 330 won't run without battery

Newbie here, just bought this to get my feet wet in the ATV world. Wife and I built a summer home in the Black Hills of SD and are looking at the Polaris ACE machines for next summer. But, in the meantime, I bought this little guy to play with and to serve as a utility vehicle around the property.

Guy I bought it from said it just needed a new battery, but it doesn't run with a jumper disconnected (makes no sense, why have a pull cord). Put a new battery in it and it runs perfect (while connected). I did a little looking for the issue on the Polaris forum, found an old post about a different year and it sounds like a new ECU could solve it. Also read they superseded the original, but got nowhere getting information on it. I don't mind spending the near $200 if it fixes it. So I'm hoping someone can confirm that the ECU is the issue and that I'm not the first this happened to.

Another question, since it will likely see minimal use, likely will be used pulling a cart around the yard for a couple hours from time to time. Wondering if leave the charger/maintainer hooked up to it when it's not being used, approximately how long it would run on a full charge (without lights of course)?
Appreciate the help!

Attached Thumbnails 03 Trailboss 330 won't run without battery-polaris-330.jpg  
Old 10-12-2017, 01:01 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts