Introduce Yourself Just Joined? Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself & let us know what you ride. PLEASE DO NOT ASK QUESTIONS FOR HELP IN THIS AREA. Your better off asking in the Brand Discussions Area.

New guy looking into getting a new atv!

Old 07-07-2017, 08:52 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy looking into getting a new atv!

Hey guys, i'm here because i'm in the market for an ATV. There's a dealership that's about an hour away from where i'm at that has very good deals on some used ATVs. I'm a fairly big guy at 6'2" at 280lbs and i've got some decent experience with both ATVs and UTVs (haven't ridden many big bore ATVs). The ATVs that i'm looking at in question are both Suzuki king quads. They have a '14 king quad 400axi with about 7k miles for $2600 and they have 3 '16 king quad 500axi's from $5300-5600 with 1700-3600miles. I know the 500's are a little bigger motor wise with IRS and Diff Lock but my question is: "Is double the price really worth it?!?" The 400 seems like such a good deal. I would like to ride 2up with my wife as well so the 500 might be better for that but would the 400 be able to do so? Thanks guys!

Old 07-08-2017, 10:54 AM
Super Moderator
Well, golly JimBob!
Received 54 Likes on 54 Posts

I'd personally go with the less used 500. Bulletproof reliability in a good all-around quad. If you're going to be on steep terrain, I'd not ride 2-up on a single rider machine. Diff-lock does make a difference in rocky climbs and deep mud or snow. I've seen where a bunch of us on Polaris machines scaled a 3' granite rock and a Suzuki couldn't because the rider forgot to lock in the full lock (extra step on a Suzuki). He put it in full lock and was able to crawl up and over the rock.

Old 07-08-2017, 12:00 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts