Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

94 kodiak 400, backfire thru carb at idle

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2017, 09:41 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 94 kodiak 400, backfire thru carb at idle

Hey guys, im new to the atv scene been at wheeling for yrs tho. I got this quad off a buddy, i took the carb apart and gave it a thorough cleaning as per the manual. Re assembled it and the thing rips and runs great anything over an idle. BUT i gotta have it idled up to not backfire like a bugger. Im not sure where to go with it.

I checked the cam chain tension and timing marks, everything looks good there. But at idle speed i get lots of bumps back to the carb the odd hard pop. It had been sitting for years. Like 8 yrs lol.

Im tempted to drop 60 bucks on one of these zoom carbs to see if that helps. I did my best to clean the stuff out in there. I have the bottom screw set at two turns out, but what does the screw on the bottom/side of the bowl adjust, it ties into that tiny jet in the fuel bowl.

Any thoughts guys

Old 09-17-2017, 01:44 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts