Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Quadrunner bogs down at half throttle

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2012, 08:42 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Quadrunner bogs down at half throttle

I have a Suzuki Quadrunner (99 I think). It starts fine and runs well until about half throttle or higher, and from there it bogs down and just chugs. I've had the carb out and cleaned it several times and my service guy did it also. No avail.

I've tried new plugs, and ethanol free gas. Nada.

The odd thing is, if I leave it alone over the winter, or for a long period of time, it will run fine the first time. Then it goes back to bogging down at half throttle.

Any ideas?

PS: I try to do my own work if I can, but I am far from a skilled mechanic.

Old 09-03-2012, 09:32 AM
Weekend Warrior

I don't know if this helps, but if I rev the engine in neutral, it will bog down past half throttle like usual, but will also backfire.

Old 09-03-2012, 09:57 AM
Range Rover

when was the last time you cleaned the air filter?

Old 09-03-2012, 10:03 AM
Weekend Warrior

It's been awhile. The filter does not look bad but I'll try anything.

Old 09-03-2012, 10:11 AM
Pro Rider

Have you tried running it with the headlights on?

The reason I ask is because the voltage regulators can go bad on these atv's. When they do, they usually over volt the system, and it goes into a "limp mode" where it sounds just like a rev limiter has kicked in. When you turn the lights on, it is usually enough drain on the system to bring the voltage back to normal and allow it to run correctly. If the regulator is bad enough though, I have heard this wont fix it either.