Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

06 KingQuad 700 Cam timing WTF???

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2015, 07:45 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 06 KingQuad 700 Cam timing WTF???

Sorry for the long post but this really has me

Ok, I've been fixing quads full time now for the last 7 years, have done many top end rebuilds. And I am a licensed auto tech for the last 30 so I am absolutely familiar with the "four" strokes of an engine and where the cams should be in relation to where the piston is.

So here is my couple WTF's with this engine. Customer brings me this quad with a no start. He bought it this way and previous owner said the timing was off. I think they tried messing with it. Hmmm. So I check compression and get Zero PSI. I pull the valve cover off and check timing marks. They look right. Lines on the cams even with the top of the head and the "I" towards the intake port and the "E" towards the exhaust port on both cam gears. Hmm. Do a leakdown test and don't hear any obvious air escaping. Drained the coolant and there was a small amount of oil floating in the coolant and the rubber on the rad cap and thermostat was all swollen and efffed up from oil.

Ok, must be a head gasket or cracked head. I pull the head of and I do see evidence of the gasket leaking compression into 1 coolant port. Do not see any cracks in the head. Ok, there is where the oil is coming from in the coolant and where the compression is going. I look at the cylinder and see some scratches and scuff marks. So possibly some compression leaking there also. I tell the customer we might as well replace piston and rings (since we are torn down this far) and have the cylinder checked and honed at a machine shop. All is good there.