Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Not running King Quad 300 for $400? Need advice.

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2016, 02:32 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NEW PICS: King Quad 300 for $400? Need advice on this.

I know cars and engines pretty well, so I'm thinking about fixing this King Quad 300 that I found locally for $400. I have ridden some quads on dunes, and ridden my uncle's utility quad (selective 4x4 like this) on trails, so I have some experience.

The seller's husband passed away and she knows little to nothing about it, I haven't checked it over yet and honestly don't have much more than these two photos...but I wanted to ask other quad owner's opinions before going to see it. Some toys/tools are cheap to maintain and others are a pain if you look at them wrong..I can't tell what this would be like.

1) Are these expensive quads to maintain? (i.e. are parts that commonly fail really expensive and what are they?)

2) Is there a good chance it just needs a tuneup because it's a carbureted engine, or is there a common failure point on this model? (i.e. do axles, diffs, or camshafts break or something random?) I've read valve adjustments are needed and perhaps that's the issue...I dunno.

3) Is $400 a good price for a quad that doesn't run?

4) It has 1707 miles on the odometer, is that low?

5) How much are decent replacement tires? This needs a new set.

6) What amount of rust is OK? We live in a coastal area so when I look underneath what parts are ok to rust a little? I'll avoid frame rust I imagine?

7) What sorts of utility things can I do with this for maintaining forested land? My dad has a small tractor he uses to haul things like wood, dirt, and chips, but I imagine I could justify it with utility but I dunno how yet. Perhaps keeping trails up by running on them?