ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community

ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community (https://atvconnection.com/forums/)
-   Suzuki (https://atvconnection.com/forums/suzuki/)
-   -   LT80 Wiring Issue (https://atvconnection.com/forums/suzuki/376133-lt80-wiring-issue.html)

Buddy0465 06-11-2018 03:32 PM

LT80 Wiring Issue

Hey all! I have had my LT80 for a while (got it off a friend, some 5 years ago) and when I pulled it out yesterday to ride it, I noticed that it didn’t start. It didn’t even make a sound when I held the run button. I made sure the battery was charged and carb was clean, and still nothing. I am almost certain it’s a wiring issue. I studied diagrams, but still can’t figure it out. I currently have the rectifier unplugged, and there’s two tan colored connectors, with flat and circular terminals, that I have no idea where they go.

all help is appreciated, thank you

merryman 06-12-2018 01:08 AM

Can't help with the rectifier but posted the following on here last week:-

Have you pressed the re-set button under the rear wheelarch. Early LT80s didn't have it, but it is there to blow, like a house trip, if the starter gets overloaded. Why did it trip? Can be just one of those things, or the engine locked due to you leaving it on PRIME and fuel filling the sump & cylinder. If it isn't the overload button, I go for the test lamp method. 12v lamp connected between good earth on engine and starter live post. Press start button, solenoid clicks and lamp doesn't light, faulty solenoid or overload button, or bad earth, if lamp does light, faulty starter. You can narrow it to either solenoid or overload unit by testing with test lamp lead on wire between them.

LT80 06-12-2018 07:40 AM

Like he said, red button under the right rear fender.

Joea2489 06-28-2018 09:06 PM

Starter relay

Hello Need help for wires that connect to starter relay previous owner unplug relay and never put them back on relay have no clue how to put them back thanks