Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Another Dismal Dyno For the Z !!

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2002, 02:30 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

In spite of all the claims of 33 hp at the rear wheels for a stock Z, this is now the third Dyno I have seen that is under 30 hp for a stock machine. This is scientific data folks, and it's hard to argue with three dynos all done by respectable manufacturers, all coming to the same conclusion!! I'm a scientist, and I'll take this objective scientific data over all the opinions of people who just want to defend their bikes.

These results match my own personal "seat of the pants" evaluation of the bike. I think the bike handles so well, that people FEEL LIKE it is way more powerful than it is. But personally, I will always chose handling over horsepower any time, and this is the best handling bike I have ever ridden.

Old 07-02-2002, 02:46 PM
Pro Rider

The few 33 HP quotes from dynos I have seen are at the crank, and that is more acurate then wheel dynos. At the wheel you run into variables like tire size, pressure, weight, chain tention, chain weight, chain friction, gearing, and on, and on, and on.
The Z blows away a 400EX by a big margine and that has been rated at 28 HP for years. my guess is that the Z has a couple more then a 400EX.[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-cool.gif[/img]
That dyno actually shows 25 at the rear wheels when fully stock.

Old 07-02-2002, 04:11 PM
Pro Rider

Also makes you wonder how many hours are on the bikes that they are dyno'ing. All I know is that after fifteen to twenty hours, this machine really starts to rip. I am so lovin this and cannot wait to pipe and jet.

Old 07-02-2002, 05:13 PM
Pro Rider

I went with the Yoshi full system jetted with lid off{152.5} and Yoshi claims I beleive between 32 or 33 hp with this mod. So that's a little more like it.

Old 07-02-2002, 05:24 PM
Pro Rider