Technical and How-To Articles Post your Tech Tips and How-to articles here. Photo illustrations welcome

04 no current to fuel pump

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2017, 05:21 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 04 no current to fuel pump

I have no current to the fuel pump 04 700 efi.Checked grounds and still does not run when key is turned. Starter works lights, etc.

Old 12-05-2017, 11:47 PM
Moto Psycho
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Make and model?

Old 12-06-2017, 12:36 AM
Weekend Warrior
Default 04 no current to fuel pum

Thanks for your reply; It is a Polaris Sportsman. I talked with a mechanic this evening and now believe the problem is most likely the fuel pump. According to the information I gathered the fuel pump must have a "closed circuit to work, thus if the pump is bad there would not be current available in the wire. I'm not a certified mechanic, just a "shade tree" novice really. I will buy a new pump and then write back to this forum with the results in a week or so.

Old 12-06-2017, 02:40 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

First check that you have voltage at the fuel pump connector.If you have voltage then more than likely a pump. If you don't have power,check the 15 amp efi fuse on the fuse block and the contacts for corrosion.Fuse blocks don't have a good rep to begin with mainly because where they are located.

Attached Thumbnails 04 no current to fuel pump-fuse-panel-resize.jpg  
Old 12-06-2017, 07:19 AM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks for your reply. There is no voltage at the connector, I checked the fuse box, all hot and good fuses. Checked all grounds, consistent there too. I tried direct current to the pump and nothing there either.

Old 12-06-2017, 02:31 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!