Trailers, Toy Haulers, Motorhomes. Discuss Trailering, Toy Haulers, Campers and Motorhomes.

Concerns on newly bought used ATV trailer

Old 05-22-2019, 11:18 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Concerns on newly bought used ATV trailer

Hi,

First off, I'm totally new to ATV's but have decided that the family needed to get up to some outdoor fun stuff. Just finalized the deal on a Can-Am 450 DPS Max, a 570XT Max and a Yamaha Grizzly 90 for the kids.

I bought a 2008 Triton ATV88 trailer I found locally and while everything aluminum looked great, I didn't think to look at the axle, (as I said, totally new to this stuff), but once I got it home I gave it a really good once over and discovered a really rusty axle. I've since spoke to the owner and he states its surface rust but the axle seems slightly bowed and the amount of rust concerns me being that I'm going to be loading 25k of brand new quads to full carrying capacity this trailers rated for, 1520Lbs. The axle and axle brackets bear the entire weight which makes me a little worried about my investments.

Hoping those that are wiser than me can let me know if it's indeed surface rust, or something worth getting validated by a mechanic or if it plain ol' needs a new axle.

Thanks!

Old 05-23-2019, 10:14 AM
Pro Rider
Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts