Utility ATVs Discussions on utility ATVs.

New to ATV's need help picking one for plowing snow only.

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2002, 02:13 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, I'm completely new to this so please be gentle. My boss at work asked me to find out about ATV's so we can get one for plowing snow around our building, and maybe just a little joy riding near by. But 95% for plowing snow. I would like to get something reliable and cheap. I was thinking of maybe getting a 2-3 year old one but I'm not sure what the price difference is and if it's worth it. The only thing I found out about so far is that I need a 4x4 and that a Warn plow is good. Any help over that is greatly appreciated. Thanks

Old 10-07-2002, 03:25 PM
Pro Rider

If you want something cheap and realiable go either for a Yamaha Big Bear I would say no older then 6 years old or a Honda 300 4*4, but i'd go with the big bear first as it has a low gear option.
Hope this helps.
2002 Traxter XT

Old 10-08-2002, 01:43 PM
Weekend Warrior

Get a Honda and don't look back. Rubicon is my choice.

Old 10-15-2002, 08:35 PM
Pro Rider
Default New to ATV's need help picking one for plowing snow only.

i agree, the big bear is less expensive and goes in and out of 4wd, i think yamaha might still have the plow deal for.....69.00$ i could be wrong on the price. ive been leveling dirt for the yards here lately and it does a great job with that so the snow will be no problem

Old 10-15-2002, 09:01 PM
Trailblazer

billie, he said cheap not over priced!

the big bear would suit your needs nicely leavundst.

Old 10-18-2002, 09:42 AM
Trailblazer

Try a Honda rancher with a plow. I know someone with that setup and it works well for them. The rancher is fairly inexpensive. With the money you save on the rancher buy a little bit better tires for it.