ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community

ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community (https://atvconnection.com/forums/)
-   Yamaha (https://atvconnection.com/forums/yamaha/)
-   -   Newbie Question Kodiak won't start help (https://atvconnection.com/forums/yamaha/243298-newbie-question-kodiak-wont-start-help.html)

uij 06-29-2006 10:31 AM

Newbie Question Kodiak won't start help

Hi All,

As stated above "Newbie here" I did a search but couldn't find anything close to my problem. I have a '00 Kodiak and it won't start on the electric starter, it just clicks. It will start just fine on the pull start. I charged the battery and tested it, in and out of the bike the meter says 12.73 volts
Its not a beat machine but these little "gremlins" are driving me nuts - too many to list.
Any help would be appriecated

TIA

squeege 06-29-2006 10:51 AM

loose terminals?

uij 06-29-2006 10:56 AM

I thought of that "Squeege" there are as tight as possible.
Tight to the point here a little more Im afraid of stripin' the screw or the soft lead.

I appreicate the input. I was reading a little more and I see that a charged battery should be around 14v?? But the charged battery reads 12.73v?

keist08 06-29-2006 11:10 AM

well most batterys are 12 volts correct?

uij 06-29-2006 11:25 AM

Yeah, the battery is a 12v.

9 outta 10 times its something stupid or something expensive.

I thought I checked all the "stupid" though.

But thanks,

squeege 06-29-2006 11:30 AM

If you can find the starter solenoid you could put 12v across the two terminals to jump start but it would have to be in park with the key on to start it...... but better yet you should get 12v on both terminals when you try to start it and get the click..... if it doesn't apply 12v to the starter side but gets 12v to the battery side terminal then guess what's bad?

uij 06-29-2006 11:56 AM

Hey Squeeg.... i'm a newbie here.
What does that mean is bad?
My guess.... starter. Whats the click?