Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Yamaha Breeze Starter vs Starter clutch, help please

Old 09-14-2010, 09:57 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yamaha Breeze Starter vs Starter clutch, help please

1999 Yamaha Breeze Starter vs Starter Clutch.
I just bought my daughter a 99 Breeze. It starts and runs great. However, sometimes, when it is turned off and she tries to restart, the starter will spin but not engage. If I tap the starter with a hammer, it seems to engage. One person told the bendix may be sticking. Another person told me there is no bendix because the starter is always engaged. So I am confused. I do not know if it needs a new starter or starter clutch. If it works when I tap the starter with a hammer, I tend to think it is the starter. Any thoughts or help would be appreciated.
I am a novice mechanic. So, if it is the starter clutch, is this difficult to change?
THANKS

Old 09-14-2010, 10:37 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
GOT BOOST!

1999 Yamaha Breeze Starter vs Starter Clutch.
I just bought my daughter a 99 Breeze. It starts and runs great. However, sometimes, when it is turned off and she tries to restart, the starter will spin but not engage. If I tap the starter with a hammer, it seems to engage. One person told the bendix may be sticking. Another person told me there is no bendix because the starter is always engaged. So I am confused. I do not know if it needs a new starter or starter clutch. If it works when I tap the starter with a hammer, I tend to think it is the starter. Any thoughts or help would be appreciated.
I am a novice mechanic. So, if it is the starter clutch, is this difficult to change?
It's the one way bearing...........or in you're terms.........the starter clutch.
It's under the cover on the left side of the engine.

Kind of a beach to get to. Not to bad though.