Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

What should I buy?

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2006, 02:10 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What should I buy?

I'm guessing you guys see tons of posts like this...In that case perhaps you can help me out.

I'm planning on buying my first atv. I am a 37 yr old father of two. I live in northern Minnesota, out in the sticks and I think it's about time for me to have a wheeler. I'll do some putting around at home, some hunting, some trail riding/cutting...pretty much all-purpose. I'm not a "aggressive" rider but I'm not a novice. Logged a lot of hours on 4-wheelers over the years. I don't need anything bigger than a 400. I want 4wd and I don't have the time to mess around with a lot of wrenching. I don't want to buy it to add a bunch of junk to it for hi-performance. It needs to be a reliable, tough rig.

OK....here's the two I'm most interested in and why I like that machine:

2006 Honda Rancher 4x4 350 I really like honda motors. They make a tough product. This is really the big selling point for me. Rock solid engineering. I like the single rear axle also. I like the flexible fender flares that come with this model. I can get this brand new for 4399$ Out The Door.

2006 Arctic Cat 400 4x4 Auto It's got more clearance, more susp travel, you can run it in 2wd or 4wd, you can lock out the front differential, adjustable shocks, 2 in receiver hitch. I'm still not sure about the Independent Rear Suspension. I like the simplicity of a SRA. The Cat seems/is bigger overall. Taller, wider, more power. In a way I like a lot of the little things the Cat has but have more faith in the Honda durability. I can get a demo Cat with 60 miles on it for about 4700$

Soooo....what should I do? If you have an opinion, please let me know. I don't spend 5000$ everyday and I want a wheeler that I'll be happy with for a long time. Thanks in advance for any input.