Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

New, need help guys!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2007, 01:31 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New, need help guys!!

Hey guys,

I'm new to ATV's, looking to purchase one in the next little while. My primary purpose for purchasing one will be for ice fishing, and for getting back and forth to a cottage in the summer. I've always owned snowmobiles, but lately, I find that the guys with quads have a much easier go at it, and they're able to carry gear much more easily. Ok, here's what I'm looking for.............

I don't need anything huge or complicated, but I'd like something with adequate power for getting through some snow once in a while, which is able to tow some ice fishing gear or a small hut. I want to know the advantages and disadvantages of liquid and air cooling. Also, are there quads that have direct shaft drive rather than the belt transmission?? I'm new to this and know nothing. I'd also like to hear preferences towards different brands and price ranges. This is alot of info, but if anyone could help me out, I would greatly appreciate it.

For this purpose, what is the smallest machine I can get away with, that will be able to do the job? I was looking a bit at honda's but was very suprised to see the 6.5 inches of ground clearance. Any opinions on that?

Thanks guys.

Kevin

Old 03-01-2007, 10:38 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Let me clarify the shaft drive/belt drive thing you mentioned. All the 4X4's are shaft drive....one shaft to the front diff and one to the back. What you are doing is confusing that, with different kinds of transmissions.........

As for transmissions, there is the basic old reliable manual gear on gear type, that has to be shifted from gear to gear. These tend to be found mostly on the smaller machines and these are my personal favorites!