Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

What you think about my 400ex mods?

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2001, 04:03 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello. I have a stock 2001 - 400EX and I have extra money to put on it. My firsts choices are as follow:

1) K&N Air Filter
2) Dynojet Jet kit
3) 16T front sprocket

Do you think my choices are reasonable for the first mods? Do you have another opinion? I am 23 years old male, and I run for fun, I don't do any competition and I am not a pro neither. I just want to ride and have fun with friends!

Thank you.

Old 05-23-2001, 09:21 PM
Pro Rider

Are you sure about the 16 tooth sprocket. It might hurt you if you like to hillclimb. Other than that it would probably ok. If you are just going to change your air filter go up one size on the main. If you are going to mod your airbox go up two. Main jets are only about $4 a piece. I think you could save your money just buying a few jets over buying the Dynojet kit.

Adam Smith

99 400EX

Old 05-24-2001, 12:16 AM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Take adam's advice and do not get the jet kit. Just buy the main jets from the honda shop 152, 155. You can get away with stock jetting with a pipe and an air filter. I bought the dynojet kit and I got a lot of jets that I didn't need and I am running a Kehien jet 160 anyway and that is with a lot of mods.

A 16T front is going to give more top end speed and less on the take off. If you find that you are riding in 4th and 5th all the time, this would be a good idea, BUT, I don't think the case saver fits a 16 tooth sprocket and you definatley don't want to run without that. I run woods so I am usually running in 3rd and 4th and I dropped to a 14T on the front.

Good Luck

Nick

99 406 EX

Old 05-24-2001, 08:24 AM
Range Rover