ATC 3-Wheelers Discussions on ATC 3-Wheelers.

Newbie to atcs (have my self a 250r)

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2004, 03:45 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie to atcs (have my self a 250r)

Hello all!

This is different for me as im in the uk and atcs are more popular in the states/canada,

I have purchased my self a honda 250r, canadian import and a 1983 model with air cooling,

Its pretty much all stock i think, as the title says im new to all this, pictures in a few weeks to follow,

since having it, almost a day, the gear leaver seems to be a bit broken, by this is mean i cant change gear, it all started when i couldnt find neutral, so i think i need to place some metal in the gear changer to stop it slipping and sliding, if not i will have to weld it (is this a good idea?) also has anyone had any problems with the gears on these atcs?

Also is there any common problems with them or anything i should watch out for?

All your anwsers will be of help, also is there any tips on riding, im scared on it, but doesnt stop me going fast (blasting in 2nd)

and last but not least cause im used to quads, semi auto and auto ive never ridden a manual motor so its different, so im in the proceeds of learning, ive been told i need to change gear more (how can i!) and not to rev it is so much when pulling off, will this harm the engine?

also what sort of clutch is it, wet cluch? by this i mean do i need the clutch to change gears 2,3,4,5,6 i know i need it to pull off,

all your help is much appreichated, and sorry for being newbie [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img]

picture of my atc - http://www.freewebs.com/v300phil/26_1_b.jpg
also the seat, when i go and jump hills the seat comes off, and when its on the top part near the tank i can pull up, is this supposed to be?

Old 11-15-2004, 05:10 PM
HA2
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

its a wet clutch.

gear's are 1 down for 1st, 5 up for 2-5.