ATC 3-Wheelers Discussions on ATC 3-Wheelers.

200x spittin and sputtering

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2008, 04:51 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 200x spittin and sputtering

Hi all..newbie here....Well i have a question...I have an 84 200x and I changed the carb to a 30mm...well b4 the air filter was put on it ran great...now I just got the filter this weekend,put it on and now, when I'm wide open in any gear it acts as if its either gettin 2 much gas or not enough....then when u ease off the throttle it starts runnin smooth then you can you can ease back into it till u r wide open and it's fine.....any ideas 2 what the problem is? Thanks.......

Old 11-16-2008, 06:11 PM
Weekend Warrior

Reading this, I have some questions:
What air filter were you running before, and what air filter are you running now?
Have you looked at your spark plug yet? Is it black and crudded up? Or is it tan-brown and flaky?
Did you change the jetting on the carb?

Old 11-17-2008, 07:48 AM
Weekend Warrior

it had the stock filter for the stock carb...now since the carb was changed to a 30 mm we had to go to a filter that about a 1" 7/8" which is what my local atv dealer said would work...even tho it's about 2mm bigger than the 1 3/4 diameter inlet on the carb....they said it would be fine.....the plug is good...and the jetting was never messed with....this is my 1st trike so I dont have alot of experience with them...the enigine has been rebuilt but the upgrades that were done is another question it was rebuilt 2 yrs ago and was never ridden much after that...the reason the carb was changed is after it had sat for all that time sumthin happened with the carb where when it was running there was gas runnin out of it so it was taken apart and cleaned Not rebuilt...just cleaned and put back on and the gas was still runnin out of it...when the new carb was put on and ran a cpl of times around the house without the filter it ran fine...till the air filter was put on