ATV Racing Discussions on ATV racing.

GNCC races at Gilmer, TX (Which Class should I Run?)

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2003, 10:42 AM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default GNCC races at Gilmer, TX (Which Class should I Run?)

On the GNCC website, I read that the ATVs races to be held at Gilmer, TX on Feb 1st are split up into the following 2 separate races and the particular race you run will depend on which class you enter.

Saturday-ATVs 10 a.m.
Utility, Stock, Women, Novice, Super Senior, First Year Racer

Saturday -ATVs 1 p.m.
Pro, A and B classes, 4-St Mod, Sport, Sr, Vet, Jr

I'm new to GNCC racing and have a question about which class I should enter using my Prairie 650. It would appear to me that the faster paced race will be the 1pm race b/c of the Pros and 4 stroke modified quads that run in that race. That being the case, would you recommend a newbie to GNCC racing (like me) to race in one of the classes that run during the 10am race? It would seem logical to me that I need to be in the slower paced race so that I am not constantly worried about getting run over by a Pro.

What do you think?

Old 12-18-2003, 12:44 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Good thinking. You will want to enter the 10 o'clock race in whatever class suits you best. Probably utility.

Old 12-18-2003, 09:32 PM
Trailblazer

Definately run the 10am race! You can then watch the Pros and realize how slow you are. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif[/img] There are several classes you can enter: Utility Modified, First Year Racer, or 4-Stroke C (there will be three 4-Stroke C classes divided up by age next year, although, utilitys are rarely seen in C classes). ATVs race on Saturday, which I believe is January 31st. You'll need an ATVA/AMA card ($39), $40 for registration, $10 for gate fee. A pit crew that can turn a wrench would be nice too.

Old 12-19-2003, 01:40 AM
Pro Rider

98Recon,