Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Lookin' for an ATV.....

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2003, 10:11 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lookin' for an ATV.....

I'm new to ATV riding. I have never ridden an ATV offroad, but I have ridden them in parking lots and in backyards. I'm 17, 6'2", and 285. I'm a big guy so I need an ATV that will get me where I wanna go easily. I am interested in doing a lot of trail riding. So do I need a sport ATV? I do plan on going fast which will be loads of fun! YAY! LOL! Anyhow any suggestions would be nice.... Oh and i have a 4k spending limit. Thanks for the help!

Old 08-02-2003, 10:22 PM
Pro Rider

Well, for trail riding I personally think 4x4 should be considered a must first off. If you dont need it turn it off. Now then, do you prefer automatics or semi autos or manual trans?

Old 08-02-2003, 10:42 PM
Weekend Warrior

I have no preference for transmissions. I like manuals but automatics will do fine.

Old 08-03-2003, 12:44 AM
Pro Rider

Take a look at the scramblers.

Old 08-03-2003, 12:53 AM
Extreme Pro Rider

iam w/ JWtraulblazer on this one you should look at a scrambler. i was lookin at a 03 a guy had 4 sale and it had a DG pipe and that was it and i did 70mph but it was a 2x4

Old 08-03-2003, 02:47 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You are tall an heavy. That means a big bore, and I think the Raptor is the only clear choice there, but may be a lot of bike for a beginner to handle. (I am personally hoping for a Honda 650EX this fall, but who knows.)

I don't agree with vampire that a 4X4 is a MUST. In fact, I say only go that route if it is absolutely necessary (eg. a lot of mud or snow). Think about it. Most utilities weigh in around 600 lbs., where most sport bikes are around 400 lbs. That's 200 extra lbs. (like carrying an extra rider!). What kind of conditions/what part of the country are you planning to ride in?