Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

honda vs polaris

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2009, 11:56 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default honda vs polaris

im looking at buy either a honda foreman 500 4x4 or a polaris sportsman 500 4x4 not sure what year 2009/2010 which ever is better. i do alot of mudding and go through water most of the timme when i ride so i was wondering which one wouls be more reliable to buy the polaris is about $1000 less but i have heard some problems with them. let me know wgat yall think

Old 12-09-2009, 05:19 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I ride desert, so I am no expert on which would do better in mud....

The Honda is a manual trans machine, with a great track record for durability/reliability. It has an ultra low 1st gear, making a low range transfer case unnecessary. It is best suited for those who want to do 90% work and 10% trail riding.

My buddy has a Sportsman 500, and I just absolutely hate the ergonomics! It feels tall, seriously unstable and tippy compared to my Honda Rancher. I ride circles around him in nasty technical terrain! I'm no fan of belt drives either. Seems like he needs to stop at the base of every major hill and get into low case....while I just scurry up to the top and wait for him!!!

Old 12-09-2009, 07:45 AM
Super Moderator
Well, golly JimBob!
Received 54 Likes on 54 Posts