Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Buying online?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2017, 04:45 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying online?

I’m completely new to ATVs, and I have a simple question. Can I buy and have an Atv shipped to me online without actually going to a dealership? If it helps I am looking to get a kymco and I live in NY state? Thanks.

Old 11-07-2017, 05:11 PM
Pro Rider

Pretty sure you can. Check what the shipping would be, though. If you need warrantee work, your local dealer may put you on the back of the line, or not. My local Arctic Cat dealer has treated me great, though I bought all my Cats from the internet. I was looking at NH dealers before I found my latest Cat in Maine. Seemed like good inventories and pricing, no sales tax.

Old 11-07-2017, 07:55 PM
Pro Rider
Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts

You probably can but why?? Without dealer backing warranty work could be a problem. Next thing is what if you don't like it?? Very costly to send it back or exchange it. Never buy without trying first ! !Always!! I am a Kymco owner and love my machine, no issues in 1 3/4 yrs....however...I still would not buy one without trying it first. You will end up paying sales tax when you get your title, that is the law in most states so your not gonna save anything there. Shipping will probably run 700-900 bucks depending on how far you are. Could drive there and check it out then rent a u-haul trailer to bring it home in for less money then shipping. Personally I would not take the chance, to many things to go wrong...

Old 11-07-2017, 10:39 PM
Moto Psycho
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts