CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

New chain....no master link...

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2005, 06:40 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New chain....no master link...

Hey guy's I just picked up a new RK o-ring chain...this one doesn't have a master snap link. It has a rivet style link, and I've never used this type of chain before. Is there as trick to putting this thing together? I've been on it with needle nose vise grips, etc, and can't seem to get it on all the way. I did manage however, to give myself a pretty burly blood blister...don't think it's gonna help me though...lol.
Any help would be appreciated!!!
Justin

Old 03-04-2005, 07:09 PM
Pro Rider

A lot of chain kits come like this now, its a pain in the ar$e, do your self a service and go buy a clip master link . You need a chain riviter to do the job right and they aint cheep and it means the chain is on there until you break it off again. I used to use this set up on superbikes but there is no need for it on an atv.

Old 03-04-2005, 10:05 PM
Pro Rider

Ditto to what blue said. I always took my street bikes to the shop and through the mechanic 10 bucks. The chain tool is 50,60 bucks.

Old 03-04-2005, 11:25 PM
Pro Rider

Thank's for the reply's guys.... I'll see if I can locate a master link with a snap clip here in town. Something else I just stumbled upon...supposedly the 2000 DS has 110 links, but the chain I took off only has 109. I can't tighten the chain any more either, as the carrier tightens up, and the axle won't spin freely. I wonder how many links I'm going to have to remove? I would think no more than 2...what do you think?

Old 03-05-2005, 01:04 AM
Pro Rider
It's official, I've been duning for over 30 years.