CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Denton steering stabilizer

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2002, 04:38 AM
Pro Rider
It's official, I've been duning for over 30 years.
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Just put one on Saturday and spent the day at the dunes Sunday. I set it on max (there are seven available adjustment clicks) and left it there the whole day.
This is the rebuildable one and was $170 with shipping which was the most expensive I've seen but not really by that much more than the others. It looks pretty sharp, all aluminum body with machined aluminum brackets.
Compared to a friends PEP new style, his is set to medium (three settings) by changing leverage point on steering bracket. His is slightly stiffer on medium than mine was on full dampen.
I never noticed a bit of steering resistance and on smooth sand and mild bumps I forgot it was on. Crossing ruts left by a small monster truck I was happy to have it and when we pulled onto some tight trails I really felt like I was on a different bike. Those trail sides always seem to grab at the front end of my DS and being so wide makes it worse. I rode alot faster with more confidence on the tight twisties.
Installation wasn't too bad but the way one of the brackets was machined it wouldn't work the way they show in the low quality photo included. Nothing major, just a machined recces for a nut on the wrong side so if you torqued it down you would break off the tiny grease zerk on a heim joint. Where do you get a little tiny grease gun? Also the end with the adjuster comes close to extending past the end of the front bumper, Not ideal but That's where it goes.
I hope it's obvious I like this stabilizer or any stabilizer on a quad. I know tire setup, rim offset and ajustable A-arms all make changes for the good on a DS or baja. I just think the stabilizer would compliment any of those improvements.
A friend rode my bike for 5 minutes and decided his polaris 400 needed a stabilzer.