General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

Riding Technique??

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2012, 10:19 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Riding Technique??

I have a question about riding technique. I am still learning how to drive a manual ATV. When I had an automatic it had casing in the whole area where the feet go. Now that I am not riding the trailblazer 330 anymore I am having trouble with jumps.

When I jump my feet come off the pegs and when they come down they will either hit the clutch or the brake...and it will happen just has not yet, but not hit anything at all and go to the ground. I know I need to get the nurf bars but I also want to learn good technique.

How do you jump (I am not talking crazy jumps, when I am riding in the dunes I always jump a little after coming off a hill) and keep your feet on the pegs? Do you decrease speed near the top of the hill, stand up (that seems to take power away from me, but I could be imagining that).

I am 125# and riding a Suzuki Z400.

thanks,
Michelle

Old 02-28-2012, 06:56 AM

you MUST not sit and jump, keep off the seat, and your feet on the pegs. find a nice gear, take a run, and go.
But lets say your coming out of a berm into a jump and your in second, to get a good air, hammer the throttle down (while setting), and keep high rpms. By the time you'd hit the jump you'd be in 3rd or 4th, croutch up, off the seat, and you can do various things here.
1) you can take the jump the way you are
2) you can seat bounce, by compressing the shocks all the way right before you get to the jump (compress the shocks by pushing your legs down hard on the pegs) the compressed shocks will decompress as soon as you come off the jump and you'll go a little longer, if your timing is good.
3)... im sure there are more ways