General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

Berry Farm ATV

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2012, 06:27 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Berry Farm ATV

Hi there, I'm a newb to ATVs and need your advice.

I run a 120 acre blueberry farm and am thinking of buying an ATV for the farm manager so that he can ride quickly from one end to the other. Speed is somewhat important, but the roads are fairly rough (lots of ruts), so we are talking about speeds less than 25mph.

The ATV would not be used for hauling anything - there is a dedicated tractor and pickups for that.

I don't mind buying used, but reliability is important. The farm manager is about 5'-6" tall and probably weighs 160lbs.

My budget is $2K or less. Any recommendations? I've been looking at older 150 to 250cc models, but there are quite a few 110cc models around for much less. Is that sufficient power, or are those more for kids?

Thanks in Advance!

Old 06-30-2012, 02:01 PM
Range Rover

2wd or 4wd? Check out a late 90's Honda Fourtrax 300.Can be had in either,bulletproof motor will run forever.

Old 06-30-2012, 05:30 PM

I'm thinking rancher 350.. I know my buddy had one a long time ago, seemed to like it fine... but i never pay much attention to the utilities....

I would say get him a sport quad but that would be to much fun for him!

But he wouldn't be able to take much/anything along with him..

Back to the topic....

I say for anything you'll find under 2 grand, go with the bullet proof hondas!

Old 06-30-2012, 05:48 PM
Range Rover

Honda recon is a great little 4-wheeler. They are a 250 I think only come in 2wd but they are a very dependable machine.

Old 06-30-2012, 07:23 PM
Super Moderator
Well, golly JimBob!
Received 54 Likes on 54 Posts