Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

fuel on/off valve

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2004, 11:33 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fuel on/off valve

I am new to ATVs and have been turning off the fuel valve and letting the carburetor run dry. If there isn't any gas in the carburetor it can't get gummed up. One of the guys at work said don't do this since this leads to deposits in the carburetor which gum everything up. So I need some advise. Should I be doing this or not? I generally run the engine once a week. Should I just turn the key off and then the fuel valve off? What do you guys do?

45acp [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Old 06-10-2004, 12:28 AM
Trailblazer

The best thing to do is to add some fuel stabalizer to your fuel if you don't ride that often. Don't run the float bowl dry the risidual fuel that's left in the bowl will leave deposits as it evaporates.

Old 06-10-2004, 02:10 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Modern fuel additives will leave scum if the carb is run dry. Turn the valve off, after the engine has COOLED.

Old 06-10-2004, 11:39 AM
Trailblazer

Can you guys tell me the reason to turn the fuel to off instead of just leaving it on? Just like to know why I do things as it will help me to remember to do them. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Old 06-10-2004, 11:42 AM
Pirate Biker
Limping Rider!
Received 42 Likes on 42 Posts

If you don't turn it off, the fuel will drip out the carb overflow tube.

Old 06-10-2004, 04:11 PM
Elite Pro Rider