Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Honda GN4 Oil

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2004, 12:50 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Honda GN4 Oil

I am new to 4 wheelers, but have been on 2 wheels for quite a while. I recently bought a Honda Recon and since it is still under warranty, I wanted to play by the shop rules for maintenance, etc. While at the shop today (I didn't get the low pressure gauge in the tool kit and wanted a spare plug on hand) I planned to pick up some "Honda" oil. To my surprise, it costs $3.85 a quart. Is this a normal price for this fluid?

I didn't buy any there, the guy at the counter gave me the speel about this and that oil, but said that it would be fine to run "good" car oil. He also told me that I would have to change it more often, like twice as often to avoid contamination, etc. I plan on keeping good maintenance habits, but I can't see paying 4 bucks a quart for this oil.

Any big issues on using Valvoline 10/40 and keeping it fresh, or do I spring for this golden fluid? What are you paying for a quart of this stuff at your shop?

Old 11-18-2004, 03:35 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Honda GN4 Oil

First, read this great article: http://www.thumperfaq.com/oil.htm

If you do a search, you will find that the topic of oil has been done to death, over and over again! I run GN4 in all my autoclutch bikes (Ranchers, 250EX, Recon, 90s). I don't know, I always considered it to be pretty cheap ($3.05/qt.), compared to the synthetics (Maxima Ultra is like $16 per quart)! Note that Honda doesn't even recommend its own HP4 (synth blend) oil for the Recon. Apparently it is to slippery for an autoclutch??? Whatever oil you chose, you might want to stick with a petroleum based oil.