Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

1984 Honda TRx200

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2005, 03:31 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1984 Honda TRx200

Hi All...

I'm a newbie here and to ATV's for the most part.

Any chance of anyone knowing where I can get front shocks for a 1984 TRX200? No dealer has em...I've checked salvage places....nothing.

Also...when I purchased this beater....I took it to a dealer for tune-up and carb rebuild. It still fouls plugs totally out (very black and sooty) after about an hour of total running. Any ideas? Is it carburation? I can only see and have fiddled with the an idle adjustment....

Or....am I looking at bad rings?

Thanks...

Old 04-14-2005, 11:23 PM
Pro Rider

#1, E-bay
#2 compression check and plug check. If compression is ok, then you need to do a proper plug check to see if jetting is off. A 4-stroke shouldn't be fouling plugs like that unless the rings are way shot, or the cab is mis-jetted. Actually, NO quad should be fouling plugs like that, even a 2-stroke if properly jetted.....

Old 04-15-2005, 02:40 PM
Weekend Warrior

My first thought was compression (rings). I've got a snap-on compression tester without the small adapter needed for that size plug. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-sad.gif[/img] So I haven't taken the compression yet. Although, with a new plug, it starts right up and runs fairly well for such a little motor.

I have a long understanding of two strokes due to snowmobiles....basically zero with four strokes.

The carb that is on this machine...is it similar to a snowmobiles, with a needle and main jet? Not sure what you mean by the "Cab being misjetted"....

If I can find the proper adapter for my comp gauge...I guess that is the only way to narrow this down from rookie perspective. If it is carburation....Not sure what to do....a rather highly rated Honda dealer did the supposed carb rebuild...