Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

TRX300 Bad Kick Starter

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2006, 02:12 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TRX300 Bad Kick Starter

Hello, I'm completely new to atv's in general and I recently got a 1992 trx300 ... utility?..... Anyway its 2 wheel drive and after a little work cleaning up the carborator, buying a new battery, new air filter, and new hoses, and some new wireing I believe its mostly in working order. The lights work now, the nuetral light as well, and I believe all the gears do as well.

However, though I know my way around basic mechanics I know almost nothing about how to run the thing, or start it. Is it ok to start it by pulling it? Pitting it in gear and pulling it behind a truck or trying to start it down a hill? I want to try those because the kick starter is giving me problems. It only seems to catch every once in a while, most of the time when pushed it just whizzes and clicks. Anyone familiar with this kinda problem and would you know how expensive it would be to fix? I just wanted to see how good the engine was before I put time into taking the whole thing apart.

I'm getting a clymer (i think thats how it's spelled) service manual but i'm not sure how much that will help me. So any advice you more learned folk could give me would be great.
Thanks

Old 05-18-2006, 09:34 PM
Weekend Warrior

No one have any Ideas?

Specifically I need to know if its ok to start this thing by putting it in gear and pulling it, and what it would take to fixa kickstart that doesn't always catch.

Old 05-18-2006, 10:46 PM
Pro Rider